Summer?

While volunteering at the Vancouver Orphan Kitten Rescue Association (VOKRA), I mentioned to Karen that I was thinking of taking on another cat.  I have so much love to give and there are so many cats who need a loving home.  There were many to choose from, but Karen thought that a 2 year old black stray, Summer, might do well as a foster cat in my home.  I saw the small black ball of fur huddled at the back of her cage, and thought ‘she looks like she needs a safe place to live’.

I took Summer home and put her in the bathroom, where she quickly hid behind the toilet and stayed there for a few days.  I found out that Summer was found in an auto-wrecker yard in Surrey, was trapped, and brought in by VOKRA volunteers.  They found out she was pregnant, and in July Summer had 4 kittens.  After the kittens were adopted and Summer was spayed, she was still at VOKRA waiting to her furr-ever home.  Being such a shy thing (and a black cat) meant it would be hard to get her adopted.

The ultimate test would be introducing her to Sookie, who was my first priority.  After a few wary glances and tiny growls, laid back Sookie seems to have accepted Summer into his home.  And Summer seems to love having some company!

It took some time, but Summer is slowly getting used to the indoor cat life.  I decided that unless something changes drastically, I am prepared to adopt her officially.  However, I thought that ‘Summer’ was a dumb name for a black cat.  After a suggestion from my mom, I decided on Ciara.  ‘Ciara’ in Irish Gaelic means ‘black’ or ‘dark’, which is more fitting for a black cat.  Also she was found in an auto wrecking yard, and ‘Sierra’ is a type of a car (well, truck).

So Ciara she became, and I fell in love with my fifth cat.

Leave a Reply

