My First Cat Tiffany

This blog is dedicated to my first cat Tiffany, who saw me through laughter and tears, joy and sorrow, was my partner in crime, and a true friend.

On October 14, 2006, our wonderful Tiffany was put to sleep due to complications from old age (she was almost 20!).  I think that’s pretty darn good for a cat!  Minus the few lonely years at the beginning of her life with a previous family, she was a very spoiled, happy cat.

When we first got her back in 1991 I was allowed to stay home from school (well, it was a snowstorm that day).  She was very scared and hissed at me, but soon she got used to us and became the baby of the family.  She was a very active kitty in her youth, scampering through the house after seeing other animals through the window, chasing balls of string or tin foil or whatever she could find to chase, trying to eat whatever ice cream she could get her paws on.  Towards her later years she matured into a good lap cat that my mom enjoyed once me and my sister moved out.

We all named her when we got her, and each of us chose a name.  She came with the name Tiffany (she was about 2 or 3 years old when we got her), which we didn’t want to change.  I chose Bastet (or Bast) after the Egyptian cat goddess, my dad chose Ginger after his childhood cat, my sister chose Danzig after the crazy death metal band, and my mom chose Boots after her childhood dog.  So she became Tiffany Bastet Ginger Danzig Boots.  Or Tiffy for short.

Towards the end, she had been suffering for a while, not really eating or drinking, and sleeping most of the day.  We all knew it was time.  She was peacefully put down in her favourite basket with my mom and dad by her side.  Farewell Tiffany, my first and best cat!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Fluffy Tufts
    Sep 20, 2012 @ 09:36:37

    What a lovely tribute to Tiffany!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

